## NORTH DAKOTA REAL ESTATE APPRAISER QUALIFICATIONS AND ETHICS BOARD

## Minutes – July 25, 2020 Board Meeting – Zoom/Teleconference Call

Chairperson Timian called the meeting to order. Roll call was taken.

Board Members present online:

Chairperson TmTimian

Corey Kost Joe Sheehan
Matt Schlenvogt Brock DesLauriers

Staff Present:

Jodie Campbell David Campbell

Chairman Timian called the meeting to order.

## **ND Temporary Waiver Extension Request**

Chairman Timian thanked Board members for meeting on a Saturday, and on such quick notice. Discussion regarding the request for an extension was to be addressed at the Board meeting scheduled for July 28<sup>th</sup>. However, on July 22<sup>nd</sup> ASC Staff contacted Board Staff indicating the ASC Special Meeting to address the ND Temporary Waiver Extension Request was moved ahead to July 29<sup>th</sup>.

Discussion began with Corey Kost providing a brief overview of the Waiver Extension Request. Corey decided to survey ND certified general appraisers with business addresses in ND, SD, MN, and MT regarding turn-around times. The results from his survey do not support the data provided in the Requestor's letter. Discussion continued.

Based on Board discussion from past meetings and the results from his survey, Corey drafted a letter of response on behalf of the Board, in opposition to the request for an extension. Board members were provided a copy of the letter for review and consideration. The response included the survey results, detailed the reasoning for Board opposition to the extension and concluded "… the supporting data, collaboration with stakeholders and the plan toward identifying meaning solutions are insufficient data to support the request". Chairman Timian suggested one revision; clarify where the survey originated. Board members were in agreement.

Corey Kost moved for approval of the letter opposing the Waiver Extension Request, noting one revision; clarify where the survey originated. Matt Schlenvogt seconded the motion. Chairman Timian called for the vote. Corey Kost, Matt Schlenvogt, Brock DesLauriers and Tim Timian voted yes. Joe Sheehan vote no. Motion carried.

Staff was directed to forward the letter to the ASC.

Chairman Timian called for adjournment.

Respectfully submitted,

Jodie R. Campbell Executive Secretary